Ayurveda Nature

Principles of Ayurveda - Sapta Dhatus

The Sapta Dhatus

The Sapta (seven) Dhatus (tissues) elements form the pillars of the body that form the means of nourishment and growth while providing support to the body as well as the mind.

  • Rasa (fluid) Dhatu -
    Derived from the digested food, it nourishes each and every tissue and cell of the body and is analogous to the plasma.
  • Rakta (blood) Dhatu -
    Regarded as the basic of life, it is analogous to the circulating blood cells. It not only nourishes the body tissues, but provides physical strength and colour to the body.
  • Masma Dhatu -
    The muscle tissue, its main function is to provide physical strength and support for the meda dhatu.
  • Meda (fat) Dhatu -
    Consists of adipose tissue providing support to ashti dhatu. It also lubricates the body.
  • Ashti Dhatu -
    Comprising of bone tissues, including cartilages, its main function is to give support to the majja dhatu and provide support to the masma dhatu.
  • Majja Dhatu -
    Denoting the yellow and red bone marrow tissue, its main function is to fill up the ashti and to oleate the body.
  • Shukra Dhatu -
    The main aim of this reproductive tissue is to help reproduction and strengthen the body.
sapta dhatus